Georgia Institute of Technology: Admission
Login  •  Register

Welcome to the Georgia Institute of Technology message boards!


In order to post a message to the message board you must be registered. It only takes a minute. Proceed to the registration page and register now.


 Forum Minimize
 
  Forum  Discussions  Ask Admission  Is it Ghost Mail or Authentic?
Previous Previous
 
Next Next
New Post 3/23/2008 7:01 PM
User is offline anonymous
0 posts
No Ranking


Re: Is it Ghost Mail or Authentic? 
I think it's authentic. It's evident that gatech (or at least it's admiss department) uses "blueoxmailbox" to keep track of its mailing lists and send emails in bulk as all of the (automatic) emails I've received from them have a

"To unsubscribe, send an email to: unsubscribe-101086@blueoxmailbox.com" message at the bottom. This is the first time, however, that I see an email from them with its sender's name being a "blueoxmailbox" address. I still think it's a valid email specially considering:
You're not the only one who has received it,
You're name shows up at the instroduction, and most importantly
It doesn't link to anywhere but valid gatech sites.

Sooo... Congratulations!

I still think the admission process has been pretty odd. I received an email regarding an incomplete application status after receiving two emails implying my acceptance (received 5 so far). Haven't received my acceptange package either. There's no doubt I'm in however, since someone from the admissions staff confirmed my acceptance.
 
New Post 3/24/2008 9:36 AM
User is offline anonymous
0 posts
No Ranking


Re: Is it Ghost Mail or Authentic? 

I investigated the mysterious emails furthur to find that we do send out automatic emails to students.  The email is sent from a sender called 'blueox.'  We try to build in enough delay so that an Official Decision Letter is received before the email.  I would still wait for the Official Decision Letter to arrive before opening any emails. 

If an email and a Decision Letter do not line up (i.e., one says accepted and the other say denied), or if you are still unsure about an email, forward it to me at brandon.phillips@admission.gatech.edu and I will look into it.  Include your GT ID# in any emails you send

Hope this is not too confusing.

 

 
Previous Previous
 
Next Next
  Forum  Discussions  Ask Admission  Is it Ghost Mail or Authentic?

Syndicate